Ads campaigns & useful websites

A couple of months ago I was asked to write a few links to existing campaigns & websites that I like with a short description of why … Here are some of them;

ted1Ted. – This is one of my favorite link/website as ‘Ted’ brings together three of the main topic’s that I find interesting “Technology, Entertainment and Design”. I’m inspired by their main goal which is spreading their ideas thru the world. I visit this site regularly to watch new discussions & talks. http://ted.com

imagesThe Great Wall; Corona commercial;

“The Mexican spirit doesn’t know frontiers, corona the Mexican beer most sold in the World.” “Everything in moderation.”

That’s the translation from Spanish, I like it a lot because their targeting campaign and message is not to be the best but to be the beer most sell in the world in contrast to the Heineken campaign, “probably the best beer in the World”. Both companies have managed to compete, using campaign slogans that make equally impressive & global/international claims. A great ad campaign.

elekto avdelingenElektroavdelingen. I like the overall look of this site; its simplicity, style of the icons & the kitsch color scheme. I especially like the film, where its possible to view the whole process of ‘building’ the site and follow a group of people as they cooperate & bring together their various crafts & skills to actually build the site in reality with real materials rather than by computer animation. This also appeals to me as I’m very creative & hands on myself. http://elektroavdelingen.no/

logopondLogopond. – I really enjoy this site as its only focus is logos. I’ve been designing my own logo & I came across this site whilst researching logo design. I’ve found it interesting to learn about the various ways to transcribe & portray the name of a product/business into a logotype. As they say Identity and Inspiration to each client. http://logopond.com/

TBWA 009TBWA. – The under-construction site for a couple of months ago in Denmark. To be honest at first I didn’t really get your message, it confused me and I didn’t have patience until now. I was staring at the window and suddenly it hit me. You take us to your World in a very creative and mysterious way. Ctrl – and everything becomes clear. I really like sites that are interactive and where you have to search to find their message or meaning.

Once upon a time TBWA had a site as the picture above. I was trying to explain their message / meaning as I explained above but I couldn´t find that website no more. Instead I found the real and new website. http://www.tbwa-denmark.com/

TBWA 004Luckily I had recorded their site in my own creative way because I was aware that it will be there for a short period. I was right since they have change the link. So I started to play along and recording it, by using a re-mix that I made as a background; Destinación Desconocida (destination unknown). 

I created a total different environment more suitable for my thinking and  after 5 minutes it hit me. 

I just discovered how to get into their site and their message. They don’t give it to you straight away, you have to figure it out yourself and search for it.

Dynamite Surfing

quicksilverlogoWeather is real or not this ad has create a huge marketing impact among people, specially surfers, the main potential targeting group. A friend of mine who is a surfer showed it to me a couple of months ago.  Last month on a visit to TBWA  in Denmark, Mr. Paul showed us the same video, a clear example that messages on the net are passed across different countries.

Over a million have watched it and thousand have even comment on this viral campaign.  Original thinking is showed at the end of the video and is indeed a very original way of creating advertisement. http://global.quiksilver.com/

I’m glad that I was asked to do this task as I regularly post links & discuss campaigns that appeal to me on my blog; you can read more about what interests me & see some of my projects in progress on http://www.swemex.net or my remixes at http://soundcloud.com/swemexanton

Anton

~ by Antonio Acevedo Garrido on September 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
